License Testing

In order to get your Colorado State driver's license, you need to meet the following requirements. The State of Colorado does not issue any type of hardship license. A+ Driving School can administer the driving exam for you to get your license for as low as $40 if you took the 36-hour course at A+. License testing for non-students is $60 (you test in your own vehicle).

License Requirements
16 - 16 1/2 16 1/2 - 18 18 +
  • Must complete 6 hours of drive time with a driving school
  • No requirements to do drive time with a driving school
  • No hour requirements / holding restrictions
  • Must log 40 day hours and 10 night hours with a parent
  • Must hold the permit for 1 year from the issue date
  • Pass the driving test

License Laws
16 - 18 18 +
  • No cell phone use at all! The car must be off or in a parked position. A parked position is not a STOP sign or a red light.
  • For the first 6 months, only siblings can be in the car with you
  • For the second 6 months, you are allowed 1 friend or your siblings, but not both at the same time
  • After you hold your license for one full year, you will be allowed to hold as many passengers as there are seatbelts
  • Legal curfew is between 12 AM and 5 AM. If you are out that late for work, school, or family matters, make sure you have a dated note in your posession with a phone number on it.
  • Passenger restrictions and curfew are waived if an adult that is over the age of 21 who has had their license for a minimum of 1 year is riding in the passenger seat (mom, dad, grandparents, etc.)
  • No passenger restrictions / curfew
  • No texting while driving